(320) 634-7700 | 130 E. Minnesota Avenue, Glenwood, MN 56334

Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00am – 4:30pm Contact Us

Form CR-H Instructions

Who is Eligible for Homestead?

If you own and occupy your own property, you may be eligible to receive homestead. You must own the property and occupy it as your primary residence no later than December 31 of the current year to receive homestead for taxes payable next year. For information about the benefits of homestead, please contact your assessor.

How and When to Apply

Complete and mail the application to your assessor within 30 days of establishing homestead, no later than December 31 to be eligible for homestead in the next tax year.

For manufactured homes, if you do not own the land the home is on, you must submit the application by May 29 to be eligible for homestead in the current tax year.

You do not have to reapply for each year. The assessor may ask for an updated application at any time.

Each applicant who occupies the property must provide a Social Security or Individual Tax Identification number and sign the form. Spouses of the applicants must also provide their social security or Individual Tax Identification number, even if they do not occupy the property.

What if My Property is Held Under a Trust?

If the property is owned by a trust, the grantor of the trust is considered the owner when completing this applications. The assessor may ask for additional information, including:

  • Name and type of trust
  • Grantors of the trust
  • Signatures of the grantors and date of those signatures

Required Attachments

If any owners or owners’ spouses do not occupy the property, you must provide their names and addresses to the assessor.

The spouse of the occupant must provide their Social Security or Individual Tax Identification number, even if they do not occupy the property.

If there are more than two qualifying occupants, attach another application with the occupant and occupant’s spouse (if applicable) sections completed.

What is a Qualifying Relative?

Qualifying relative for both agricultural and residential homestead include: parent, stepparent, child, stepchild, grandparent, grandchild, brother, sister, uncle, aunt, nephew, or niece of the owner, by blood or marriage.

Use of Information

The information on this form is required by Minnesota Statutes 273.124 to properly identify you and determine if you qualify for homestead. Your Social Security or Individual Tax Identification number is required. If you do not provide the required information, your application will be denied. If you provide your Social Security or Individual Tax Identification number thereafter, the effective date of the homestead classification may be delayed. Your Social Security or Individual Tax Identification number is considered private data for purposes of establishing homestead.

Penalties

Making flase statements on this application is against the law. Minnesota Statutes, Section 609.41 states that giving false information in order to avoid or reduce their tax obligations can result in a fine of up to $3,000 and/or up to one year in prison.

Questions?

Contact your County Assessor’s Office for assistance.

Last updated by the Pope County Assessor’s office February 28, 2024