(320) 634-7700 | 130 E. Minnesota Avenue, Glenwood, MN 56334

Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00am – 4:30pm Contact Us

Form CR-HESS Instructions

Who is Eligible?

You may be eligible for a market value exclusion of up to $300,000 if either of the following apply:

  • You are the surviving spouse of a United States military veteran with 100% and permanent service-connected disability or you have been awarded dependency and indemnity compensation.
  • You are the surviving spouse of a member of the United States Armed Forces who died due to a service connected cause while serving honorably in active duty, as indicated on U.S. Government Form DD1300 or DD2064.

You must be able to verify that you are a surviving spouse of a veteran with a 100% and permanent disability rating or a service member who died while serving in active duty.

Homestead Property

This application is not a homestead application. You must apply for and be granted homestead on a qualifying property prior to applying for this market value exclusion.

How to Apply

Complete the application and attach all required documentation to your county assessor by December 31 of the current year to be eligible for the exclusion in the next payable tax year (except for some manufactured homes that are taxed in the same year they are assessed).

You will continue to receive the benefit until you remarry. The exclusion may be transferred to a property aside from the veteran’s original homestead once under certain conditions.

Required Attachments

Please attach all required documentation to verify that you qualify for this exclusion.

Use of Information

We use the information on this form to properly identify you and determine if you qualify for the market value exclusion. Your Social Security or Individual Tax Identification number is required. If you do not provide the required information, your application will be denied.

Penalties

Making false statements on this application is against the law. Minnesota Statutes, Section 609.41 states that giving false information in order to avoid or reduce their tax obligations can result in a fine of up to $3,000 and/or up to one year in prison.

Additional Resources

Your county’s Veterans Service Office and Assessor’s Office can assist you with properly filling out this form.

Last updated by the Pope County Assessor’s office February 28, 2024