Applications for a marriage license are accepted between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Pope County Recorder’s office. No appointment is needed.
Marriage applicants must be at least 18 years of age. All applicants must complete and submit their application online at https://moms.mn.gov/application then BOTH parties must appear in person at a participating county office to obtain your marriage license BEFORE your ceremony. This license can be used anywhere in the State of Minnesota, and the certificate must be returned to the county where the license was purchased. The license is valid for six months from the date of issue.
Applicants must appear in person to complete the application process within 90 days. If one of the applicants cannot appear in person, please contact the Recorder’s office to discuss your options.
If either applicant has had a previous marriage, termination type (death, divorce or annulment), the date, city, state, and county of termination must be provided on the application.
As of August 1, 2023, applicants with a felony conviction for a crime committed under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction may no longer change their name through the marriage process. Individuals with a felony conviction will need to apply for a legal name change with the Court Administrator’s office in their county of residence within six months of the marriage ceremony. For non-Minnesota residents, please contact the district court in your county of residence for further guidance.
A $115 marriage license fee or a $40 reduced marriage license fee with an Educator’s Statement. Payment can be made with cash, check or credit card. A convenience fee will be charged to use a credit card.
Application fees are non-refundable
REDUCED MARRIAGE LICENSE
The marriage license fee for applicants who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee the applicants must submit, at the time of applying for the marriage license, a signed, dated and notarized (or church seal) Educator’s Statement from the individual who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming the education was received.
The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister’s designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, Section 517.08 or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, Section 148B.33. The education must include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
cOPY OF CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE
To obtain a certified copy of a marriage certificate, please complete the Marriage Record Request form and enclose appropriate fees.
SEARCH MARRIAGE RECORDS STATEWIDE
Minnesota Local Vital Statistic Registrars collaborated without state or federal resources to design a statewide marriage index system that received a commitment from all 87 counties to enter all marriage data. From the MOMS Minnesota Official Marriage System website you can search, and order marriage records statewide. MOMS includes information from each county to inform users what years of records are available as some counties are still working to add historical data.
Pope County Recorder
130 East Minnesota Ave
Glenwood, MN 56334
If you have questions, please feel free to contact the Pope County Recorder’s Office or you may search https://moms.mn.gov/ which is a website for the statewide marriage index.